Beyond The Night | The Envy Chronicles | Author Colleen Gleason Beyond The Night | The Envy Chronicles | Author Colleen Gleason
Colleen Gleason

Beyond The Night

Book 1: The Envy Chronicles

About the Book

Everything they knew is gone…

Five men emerge from the remnants of destruction with extraordinary new powers. 

They are humankind’s last hope, but they cannot survive this devastated world alone.

When Dr. Elliott Drake emerges from a cave after traveling fifty years through time, the world as he knew it in 2010 is gone. Cities are overgrown jungles, and what’s left of civilization has been repressed by crystal-wearing immortal beings. But even more unsettling: Elliott has acquired an extraordinary ability–the power to heal.

But even that gift, in a world that lacks the technology and infrastructure of his past, is a two-edged sword for Elliott.

Jade Kapiza, who was once imprisoned by the immortal beings, has been in hiding for years. But now she’s determined to help the human race fight back against the control of her captors. She can trust no one…but when Elliott comes into her life, he pushes at her defenses and begins to tear down the walls she’s built so carefully.

Yet the mysterious doctor seems to have secrets of his own. Can Jade trust Elliott with her heart, even as they risk their lives to save a band of innocents?

And can Elliott find a new place for himself–a home–in this new, ravaged world?

* Series previously named Heroes of New Vegas.

Buy the Book

  • Buy on Apple Books
  • Buy for Kindle
  • Buy for Nook
  • Buy from
  • Buy on Google Play
  • Buy on Indie Bound
  • Buy on Kobo
  • Buy on Audible
Beyond the Night audiobook by Colleen Gleason


This book is also available on audiobook from the following online booksellers:

Narrator: Sebastian Fields
Format: Unabridged
Runtime: 10h 34m


“Sexy, electrifying…an edgy, page-turning series. Brilliantly conceived and executed.”

— Library Journal

“Beyond the Night is breath-taking action, spine-tingling suspense and heart-breaking emotion wrapped up in a world so believable you’ll find yourself questioning reality. [Colleen Gleason] makes even the end of the world sexy!”

– USA Today Best-selling Author Kathryn Smith

“[Gleason’s] time-travel tale is dark, dangerous, and deliciously sexy as she packs her wildly inventive plot with plenty of clever twists and pop-culture-inspired turns guaranteed to keep readers tuned in until the second installment.”

– Booklist

“[Gleason] creates a convincing and chaotic world, complete with ocean, elephants and tigers on the Nevada terrain…”

– Publishers Weekly

“Colleen Gleason’s vision of the future is dark, complex, and sharply original. I can’t wait for the next book!”

– Nalini Singh

“Atmospheric and dark, filled with high-stakes action, sizzling romance, and set against a shadowy, post-apocalyptic world that’s as fascinating as the varied cast of characters who inhabit it.”

– Lara Adrian

“Dark, sexy, and captivating.”

– Jeaniene Frost

“Like a sexy Walking Dead!”

– Mara Jacobs, New York Times bestselling author

Behind the Story

The whole story behind The Envy Chronicles comes from my love of thriller. The bad guys are always trying to find a way to destroy the earth, or to rule the world. And in the books I read and the movies I watch, they are always foiled by the heroes.

But I thought to myself one day…what if, one time, the bad guys succeeded? What would happen then?

…and the concept of The Envy Chronicles was born. Add in a little twist on the Atlantis legend, as well as a tweak of paranormal, and voila!

The Details

Published: January 1, 2010
Publisher: Colleen Gleason / Oliver Heber Books
Formats: EbookPaperbackAudiobook
ISBN-10: 1541130162 ISBN-13: 978-1541130166 ASIN: B08BZDZR2Y
Genres & Tropes
Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy, Paranormal Fantasy, Edgy, Suspense